Ballycopeland Windmill - Windmills were once very common in the grain-growing area of east Down, but with the exception of Ballycopeland all are now in ruins. Built in the late 18th or early 19th century it was worked by the McGilton family until the First World War, and between 1950 and 1978 it was gradually restored to full working order after falling into disrepair.
Inside the kiln house there is a video explaining how the mill works. Depending on weather conditions, there may also be a chance to mill some barley. The Millers house is also open with its impressive kitchen and fireplace containing a unique double flue. The outbuildings now serve as visitor centre with displays, models and audio-visual theatre.